What distance is the Cox Plate?

What distance is the Cox Plate?

2040 metres
Key Cox Plate Information. First run in 1922, the $5.05 million Weight-For-Age Ladbrokes Cox Plate is run over the quirky distance of 2040 metres (just over 10 furlongs) at The Valley (Moonee Valley Racecourse) and some of the greatest horses in the history of Australian racing adorn its honour roll.

Is northerly The racehorse still alive?

Northerly (17 October 1996 – 9 May 2012) was an Australian racehorse who is considered arguably Australia’s best middle distance Thoroughbred horse of the early 2000s.

How do you qualify for the Cox Plate?

W. S. Cox Plate

Race information
Track Left-handed
Qualification Horses three years old and older
Weight Weight for age
Purse A$5,000,000 (2021)

Who owns Sir dragonet horse?

Sold to a high-profile syndicate attached to the emerging powerhouse stable of Ciaron Maher and David Eustace, Sir Dragonet arrived in Australia with a reputation as costly conveyance on the racetrack. He was rated good enough to start favourite in the 2020 English Derby but finished out of the placings.

Who will win Cox Plate 2021?

raider State Of Rest
The 2021 Cox Plate results saw a thrilling finish between the Joseph O’Brien-trained Irish raider State Of Rest and Godolphin-raced three-year-old Anamoe. Irish raider State Of Rest survived a protest to win the 2021 Ladbrokes Cox Plate.

What is the Cox Plate field?

The Cox Plate field represents the best weight-for-age hopefuls from around Australia and aboard. The official 2022 Cox Plate field will be released by the Moonee Valley Racing Club (MVRC) on Tuesday October 18th following a number of declaration stages of early acceptances. The race has a capacity of 14 starters.

Does northerly mean from the north?

toward the north. from the north. noun, plural north·er·lies. a wind that blows from the north.

Who trained Northerly?

Fred Kersley
About the horse

Foal Date 17 Oct 1996
Trainer Fred Kersley
Owner Mrs J A Kersley, N G Duncan, Mrs S M Duncan, R G Sayers, P M Bartlett, T M Patrizi, I F Grljusich.
Total PM AUD $9,294,850
Career 19 Wins (51%) – 9 Placings (76%) – 37 starts

How much does it cost to get on the Cox Plate?

The Cox Plate is often referred to as “the race where legends are made” and has been won by many turf greats over the years including So You Think (2009-10) and historic four-time champion Winx (2015-18) who were the last multiple Cox Plate winners….

Ladbrokes Cox Plate
Prize Money: $5 million
Age: 3 year olds and over

How much did Sir Dragonet cost?

Racing career Sir Dragonet won his first two starts in 2019, a maiden race at Tipperary and then the Group III Chester Vase by a margin of eight lengths. The owners Coolmore paid an £85,000 late entry fee for the horse to take part in the 2019 Epsom Derby.

What happened to Sir Dragon A?

Trainer Ciaron Maher has paid tribute to Cox Plate winner Sir Dragonet following the horse’s death on Saturday. Sir Dragonet, winner of the 2020 Cox Plate, was euthanised after suffering an injury during a gallop at Moonee Valley.

Why was Zaki scratched?

Trainer Annabel Neasham broke the news on Twitter just after 7.30am, leaving the Cox Plate field in disarray. “Absolutely devastated to report that Zaaki had been scratched from the Cox Plate due to an elevated temperature,” Neasham Racing tweeted.

Who won Cox Plate 2022?

Have a look below at the results for the 2022 Cox Plate as soon as the race is run and won. Total prizemoney for the Cox Plate is $5 million with 1st place set to cash in about $3 million….Cox Plate Results.

2021 Winner State Of Rest
2020 Winner Sir Dragonet
2019 Winner Lys Gracieux
2018 Winner Winx
2017 Winner Winx

How much is Cox Plate worth?

The prizemoney for the Group 1 Cox Plate is $5 million, in which the winner takes home $3 million.

Is the east wind cold?

An east wind always feels chilly and raw even at the height of summer and in the winter can provide the most bone chilling air temperatures, not to mention windchills.

Who won 2001 Cox Plate?

Notable winners of the WS Cox Plate include State Of Rest (2021), Sir Dragonet (2020), Lys Gracieux (2019), Winx (2015/2016/2017/2018), So You Think (2009/2010), Makybe Diva (2005), Northerly (2001/2002), Sunline (1999/2000), Might And Power (1998), Saintly (1996), Octagonal (1995), Super Impose (1992), Better Loosen …

Who won the 2021 Cox Plate?

State Of Rest
Cox Plate Results 2021

Finish Horse Jockey
1st State Of Rest John Allen
2nd Anamoe Craig Williams
3rd Verry Elleegant Damien Lane

How old is Sir Dragonet horse?

Sir Dragonet, winner of the 2020 Cox Plate, was euthanised after suffering an injury during a gallop at Moonee Valley. Maher, who trained the six-year-old stallion along with David Eustace, spoke to Channel Seven from Saturday’s Caulfield Cup meeting.

Who rode Sir Dragonet?

By Damien Ractliffe and Michael Lynch. Reigning Cox Plate champion Sir Dragonet has been euthanised after he broke down with a catastrophic injury to his near foreleg during an innocuous trackwork incident at Moonee Valley on Saturday morning.

Related Posts