What were the old divisions in the NFL?

What were the old divisions in the NFL?

There was the AFC and NFC East, West, and Central consisting of five teams each, except for the AFC Central, which had six teams.

What NFL team came in 2002?

the Houston Texans
The 2002 National Football League expansion draft is the most recent National Football League (NFL) draft in which a new expansion team, named the Houston Texans, selected its first players.

What were the NFL divisions in 2000?

Full Site Menu

  • AFC North: Bengals, Steelers, Browns, Ravens.
  • NFC East: Cowboys, Eagles, Football Team, Giants.
  • NFC South: Buccaneers, Saints, Falcons, Panthers.
  • NFC West: Rams, Cardinals, 49ers, Seahawks.

When did the NFL go to 4 divisions?

When the NFL expanded to 32 teams in 2002, the league realigned, changing the division structure from three divisions in each conference to four divisions in each conference.

What were the NFL divisions in 2001?

What was the 2002 division realignment?

The major changes were: The Indianapolis Colts, Jacksonville Jaguars, Tennessee Titans, and expansion Houston Texans were placed into the newly formed AFC South. The owners of the Jaguars, Titans and Texans recruited the then-owner of the Miami Dolphins to take the 4th spot in the AFC South instead of the Colts.

Who was the best football team in 2002?

2002 NFL Standings & Team Stats

  • Super Bowl Champion: Tampa Bay Buccaneers.
  • AP MVP: Rich Gannon.
  • AP Offensive Rookie of the Year: Clinton Portis.
  • AP Defensive Rookie of the Year: Julius Peppers.
  • AP Defensive Player of the Year: Derrick Brooks.
  • Passing Leader: Rich Gannon, 4689 Yds.
  • Rushing Leader: Ricky Williams, 1853 Yds.

When did the NFL go to 8 divisions?

The clubs were then realigned into eight divisions, four teams in each….2002 NFL season.

Regular season
Date January 26, 2003
Site Qualcomm Stadium, San Diego, California
Champions Tampa Bay Buccaneers
Pro Bowl

Who won AFC East in 2002?

The New York Jets
The New York Jets finished 1st in the AFC East in 2002 with a record of 9-7.

Who was the worst NFL team in 2002?

The Cincinnati Bengals
The Cincinnati Bengals had the worst record by a team in 2002, with a record of 2-14.

Who won the AFC North in 2002?

Oakland Raiders
The 2002 NFL season was the 83rd regular season of the National Football League….2002 NFL season.

Regular season
AFC Champions Oakland Raiders
NFC Champions Tampa Bay Buccaneers
Super Bowl XXXVII
Date January 26, 2003

Who won the NFC East in 2002?

Philadelphia Eagles
NFC Standings

NFC East
Philadelphia Eagles* 12 241
New York Giants+ 10 279
Washington Redskins 7 365

Has any NFL team gone 0-16?

Since 1944, only five teams have had winless seasons in the NFL: the 1960 Dallas Cowboys (0–11–1), the 1976 Tampa Bay Buccaneers (0–14), the 1982 Baltimore Colts (0–8–1) the 2008 Detroit Lions (0–16), and the 2017 Cleveland Browns (0–16).