Does Illinois require emissions testing?
In Illinois, drivers must receive an emissions inspection every two years, starting from the year when the vehicle turns four model years old. All drivers in Cook, Dupage, and Lake counties must receive regular emission inspections.
Is Illinois still doing emissions testing?
Hours have been extended July 6 through August 31 at centralized vehicle emissions testing locations on Saturdays, Mondays, and Tuesdays to accommodate motorists that did not have their vehicles tested during the COVID-19 pandemic….Illinois EPA Resumes Phased-In Vehicle Emissions Testing.
|Registration Expiration||Suggested Test Month|
|August 2020||Test in September 2020|
Are emission test being waived in Illinois?
The Secretary of State’s office tells us the waiver is scheduled to expire March 1. If you were due for an emissions test this year, you will need to complete that requirement next year prior to getting your license plate renewal sticker.
Is there a grace period for emissions test in Illinois?
If a vehicle fails its test, the owner has 30 days to have it repaired and submitted for a free retest. If the vehicle owner misses the assigned test date by more than 30 days, he is subject to a $20 late fee billed to him by the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV).
What cars are exempt from emissions in Illinois?
- New vehicles for the newest four (4) model years.
- Pre-1968 model year vehicles.
- Vehicles of model year 1995 or before that were in compliance with the Illinois Vehicle Emissions Inspection Law on February 1, 2007.
- Electric Vehicles.
- Vehicles registered as antiques, expanded use antiques, customs and street rods.
How old does a car have to be to be exempt from emissions in Illinois?
Provides that vehicles owned by persons 65 years of age or older are exempt from emissions inspection if each owner is or will be 65 years of age or older on the scheduled date of the next inspection and the vehicle is being driven 5,000 miles or less annually.
How do I renew my emissions test in Illinois?
In some cases, the extension for Illinois emissions test can be requested. The state contractor will then be responsible to process these requests. By scanning the QR code, you will be taken to the governing website where the request for emissions testing extension can be filed.
Can you pass Illinois emissions test with check engine light on?
You are allowed to test your vehicle if the check engine light is on. The busiest times for vehicles testing is towards the end of the month and on Saturdays. Avoid these times for a quick test and faster wait times.
How old does my car have to be to not require emissions testing in Illinois?
What do you need to bring for emissions test Illinois?
What to do Before Arriving at the Testing Station: Bring your vehicles test notice with you. Make sure you are bringing the correct vehicle that matches the vehicle on the test notice. Drive your vehicle for 15 minutes prior to testing, this ensures it’s completely warmed up.
How much does an Illinois emissions test cost?
The test costs $20. If you fail inspection, you will have to pay for repairs to get your car to pass inspection. This will hopefully be cheaper than paying the fine. Once you pass, you will be able to renew your car’s registration.
How much does an emissions test cost in Illinois?
What do I need to bring to my emissions test Il?
How do I get around my emissions test?
How to Pass Your Emissions Test
- Get the “Check Engine” light to turn off.
- Take your car for a spin on the highway.
- Refill the Engine Oil.
- Tune Your Vehicle Before the Test.
- Properly Inflate Your Tires.
- Check All the Fluids Before-Hand.
- Clean the Engine System.
- Get a Mock Inspection.
What do I need to bring to an emissions test Illinois?
How can I cheat and pass emissions?
Warm up the engine of your car as much as possible. The hotter the engine of your vehicle, the less hydrocarbons the tailpipe can emit. Test your car on a reasonably cool day if you want to do even better, while still ensuring your engine is as hot as possible.