How is phylum Chordata classified?

How is phylum Chordata classified?

Phylum Chordata is divided into three subphyla: Urochordata or Tunicata, Cephalochordata and Vertebrata. Subphyla Urochordata and Cephalochordata are often referred to as protochordates and are exclusively marine.

What are the 10 classifications of animals?

Classification of Animal Kingdom

  • Phylum – Porifera.
  • Phylum – Coelenterata (Cnidaria)
  • Phylum – Ctenophora.
  • Phylum – Platyhelminthes.
  • Phylum – Aschelminthes (Nemotoda) Annelida.
  • Phylum – Arthropoda.
  • Phylum – Mollusca.
  • Phylum – Echinodermata.

What are classified as animals?

What is an animal? Animals are multicellular eukaryotes whose cells are bound together by collagen. Animals dominate human conceptions of life on Earth because of their size, diversity, abundance, and mobility. The presence of muscles and mobility is one of the primary characteristics of the animal kingdom.

Who created the phylum Chordata?

Although the name Chordata is attributed to William Bateson (1885), it was already in prevalent use by 1880. Ernst Haeckel described a taxon comprising tunicates, cephalochordates, and vertebrates in 1866.

Which animals are classified as chordates?

Scientific name: Chordata Chordates (Chordata) are a group of animals that includes vertebrates, tunicates, lancelets. Of these, the vertebrates—lampreys, mammals, birds, amphibians, reptiles, and fishes—are the most familiar and are the group to which humans belong.

Which animal is included in phylum Chordata?

Most species within the phylum Chordata are vertebrates, or animals with backbones (subphylum Vertebrata). Examples of vertebrate chordates include fishes, amphibians, reptiles, birds, and mammals. A modern human—one species of mammal—is a familiar example of a chordate.

What animals are not chordates?

Members of phylum Porifera, Coelenterata, Ctenophora, Platyhelminthes, Aschelminthes, Annelida, Arthropoda, Mollusca, Echinodermata and Hemichordata fall under Non-chordates.

What is the definition for Chordata?

Definition of chordate : any of a phylum (Chordata) of animals having at least at some stage of development a notochord, dorsally situated central nervous system, and gill slits and including the vertebrates, lancelets, and tunicates.

How many Phylums are in the animal kingdom?

Depending on definitions, the animal kingdom Animalia contains about 31 phyla, the plant kingdom Plantae contains about 14 phyla, and the fungus kingdom Fungi contains about 8 phyla.

What animals are phylum Chordata?

ChordateVertebrate / Phylum

What animals belong to phylum Chordata?

What are the 5 classes of chordates?

The phylum chordata (animals with backbones) is divided into five common classes: fish, amphibians, reptiles, mammals and birds.

What are the chordates and non-chordates?

Animals with a backbone or notochord are called chordates whereas non-chordates are animals lacking a backbone or notochord. Complete answer: Chordata is a phylum that comprises species such as mammals, fish, birds, reptiles and amphibians (all vertebrates); sea squirts (tunicates); and lancelets (cephalochordates).

What are the 7 classes of the phylum Chordata?

Terms in this set (7)

  • agnatha. jawless fish: lamprey and hagfish.
  • chondrichthyes. cartilage fish: sharks, skates, rays.
  • osteichthyes. bony fish: yellow perch.
  • amphibia. salamanders, toads, frogs.
  • reptilia. turtles, crocodiles/alligators, lizards, snakes.
  • aves. birds.
  • mammalia. mammals.

What are the 5 classes in phylum Chordata?

What are the 8 classes of chordates?

Classification of Chordates

  • Myxini (hagfish).
  • Hyperaortia (lampreys).
  • Chondrichthyes (cartilaginous fish).
  • Actinopterygii (ray-finned fish).
  • Sarcopterygii (lobe-finned fish).
  • Amphibia (amphibians).
  • Sauropsida (reptiles).
  • Aves (birds).

What are the 36 animal phyla?

There are 36 recognized animal phyla, of which but nine (Mollusca, Porifera, Cnidaria, Platyhelminthes, Nematoda, Annelida, Arthropoda, Echinodermata, and Chordata) contain the vast majority of described, extant species.

What are the 5 classes of phylum Chordata?

What animals are not in phylum Chordata?

This phylum consists of a small group of worm-like, marine species with an organ-system level of organization. Members of phylum Porifera, Coelenterata, Ctenophora, Platyhelminthes, Aschelminthes, Annelida, Arthropoda, Mollusca, Echinodermata and Hemichordata fall under Non-chordates.

Related Posts