How do you assess upper and lower extremity strength?

How do you assess upper and lower extremity strength?

To test upper extremity strength, ask the patient to extend their forearms with palms facing upwards. Place your hands on their inner forearms and ask them to pull their arms toward them while you provide resistance. An expected finding is the patient strongly bilaterally pulls against resistance with both arms.

How do you assess upper extremities?

Upper extremities:

  1. Inspect arms and hands.
  2. Palpate joints (elbows, wrist, and hands) for redness and move the joints (note any decreased range of motion or crepitus)
  3. Palpate skin temperature.
  4. Palpate radial artery BILATERALLY and grade it.

How do you do MMT?

Test position – arm at the side, elbow flexed to 90 degrees with the forearm pronated and the wrist fully extended. Verbal instructions: “Bend your wrist up as far as possible.” The examiner’s hand giving resistance is placed over the back of the patient’s hand just distal to the wrist.

What are the types of health assessment?

There are mainly four types of health assessments – Initial Assessment, Focused Assessment, Time-lapsed Assessment, and Emergency Assessment.

What is upper and lower extremities?

Your upper extremity bones include the humerus (upper arm), radius and ulna (forearm), and hand. Your lower extremity bones include the femur (thigh bone), tibia and fibula (shin bone), and foot.

What are the three types of health assessment?


  • INTITIAL ASSESSMENT. Usually done by the physician (documented as the History and Physical in the patient record) or admitting nurse (may be in the nursing admission notes or assessment).

How do you check a patient’s MMT?

Testing position – arm out from the side at shoulder level. The examiner demonstrates the motion, then states “Lift your arm out to the side to shoulder level.” The hand giving resistance is contoured over the patient’s arm just above the elbow. The other hand stabilizes the shoulder above the shoulder joint.

What is the MMT scale?

THE MMT Grades Guide Grade 3+ (Fair+): MMT grade 3+ is not quite middle of the road results. In this grade, a patient is able to perform complete range of motion with the addition of gravity and minimal resistance. Grade 3 (Fair;50%): Manual muscle testing grade 3 is considered the mid-range for muscle strength.

What are the types of physical examination?

Physical examination

  • Inspection.
  • Palpation.
  • Auscultation.
  • Percussion.

What is a health assessment tool?

Health assessments are usually structured screening and assessment tools used in primary care practices to help the health care team and patient develop a plan of care. Health assessment information can also help the health care team understand the needs of its overall population of patients.

What are the lower extremities?

Listen to pronunciation. (LOH-er ek-STREH-mih-tee) The part of the body that includes the leg, ankle, and foot.

What are the upper extremities?

Listen to pronunciation. (UH-per ek-STREH-mih-tee) The part of the body that includes the arm, wrist, and hand.

What is the Waterlow assessment tool?

The Waterlow Score is a medical assessment tool used to assess the risk of a bed-bound patient developing pressure sores (bedsores). The tool is widely used in accident and emergency departments, hospital wards, and residential nursing homes across the UK.

Related Posts